Skinny Dipping

27/07/2016

Rachel and I decided to canoe and camp at Kakakise Lake in the Killarney Provincial park.

Straight after work we loaded up the car and headed to the George Lake Rangers office to pick up our camping permits for the next couple of days. At the front desk, while the park ranger was going on about park safety mumbo jumbo, I noticed there was a FREE outdoor education activity book on the counter. OBVIOUSLY I took one because there’s nothing more exciting then an ages 3 and up activity book about the wilderness… and what sort of adventure were Rachel and I already on you ask? One that is filled with ‘activities’ in the ‘outdoors’ – it seemed only appropriate.

So we embarked on our evening paddle to find the ultimate campsite, isolated with a campsite, bonfire pit and wood all there waiting for us!

In celebration of a day off at our own campsite, on this beautiful temperate evening, I took all of my clothes off and jumped into the lake. So it was just bare me and mother nature. I can’t even describe to you how amazing this moment was for me. I felt Intune with my body and soul, the water that was moving with me, the sounds of the wind and leaves, the smell of the pines. One of those moments you’ll feel and will remember for the rest of your life… then Rachel through a cider at me and that was that!

By the time night came we had a complete open tent (without the waterproof cover) which meant we fell asleep to our last view being of the stars and night sky and sounds being of the wind and owls mating calls. It was amazing. It was a night of bonfires, delicious freeze-dried space food and played with an outdoor adventure activity book which kept us in laughing tears for hours!  The next morning, we paddled straight to work after a hot fresh strong coffee.

 

Leave a Reply

